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Federal lawmakers passed Section 1926 
of Title XIX of the Federal Public Health 
Service Act, commonly called the Synar 
Amendment, in 1992.  The Synar 
Amendment requires states to pass and 
enforce laws that prohibit the sale of 
tobacco to individuals under 18 years of 
age.  On January 19, 1996, the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services 
issued the final implementation regulations 
for the Synar Amendment.  Although 
California law prohibits the sale of tobacco 
products to minors (Penal Code Section 
308; statutes of 1991; last amended in 
2001), the law was not sufficient to meet 
the enforcement requirements of the Synar 
Amendment.  After the Synar proposed 
regulations were released, but before the 
final regulations were issued, the California 
Legislature passed the Stop Tobacco 
Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act, 
Chapter 1009, Statutes of 1994; last 
amended in 2001.   

Compliance with the Synar Amendment is 
a condition of funding for states receiving 
the Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment (SAPT) block grant.  Forty (40) 
percent of the block grant funding can be 
withheld for not complying with the Synar 
Amendment.   

Briefly, the Synar federal regulations 
require California to:  

• Achieve no more than a 20 percent 
rate of illegal tobacco sales to 
minors. (The 2007 annual 
percentage rate was 10.7 percent). 

• Draw a probability sample among all 
available retail outlets to ensure that 

selected outlets are accessible to 
youth, and conduct annual, random, 
unannounced inspections.  This 
sales rate is used to determine 
compliance with the Synar 
Amendment.  

• Determine strategies that would 
most appropriately meet the 
requirement of the law (i.e., licensing 
system, graduated penalties, 
cigarette vending machine ban, etc.).  

 
The California STAKE Act (Business and 
Professions Code Sections 22950-22961) 
mandates the following ongoing activities:  

• Requires California’s Department of 
Health Services (DHS) to enforce 
laws prohibiting the sale, distribution, 
or provision of tobacco products to 
persons under 18 years of age.  

 
• Requires retail sellers to check the 

identification of anyone attempting to 
buy tobacco who appears to be under 
18 years of age.  Investigators from 
DHS, Food and Drug Branch, conduct 
on-site compliance checks with the 
assistance of minors, 15-16 years of 
age, who are granted immunity from 
prosecution.  

 
• Requires retailers of tobacco products to 

post a warning sign at each point of 
sale, and on each vending machine, 
stating that selling tobacco products to 
minors is illegal and subject to penalties.  
Warning signs must include a toll-free 
telephone number (1-800-5 ASK-4-ID) 
that customers may use to report 
observed tobacco sales to youth under 
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the age of 18.  The owner of a business 
where tobacco is sold, or provided to a 
minor, is subject to civil penalties 
ranging from $200 to $6,000.  

 
• Requires any tobacco product 

distributor, or wholesaler, and any 
vending machine operator, to annually 
provide DHS the names and addresses 
of the tobacco product retailers that they 
supply, and the name and address of 
each location where cigarette vending 
machines are placed.  

 
• Prohibits tobacco billboards within 1,000 

feet of schools and public playgrounds.  
 
• Requires the annual transfer of  

$2 million dollars from the Department 
of Alcohol and Drug Programs’ SAPT 
block grant to the Sale of Tobacco to 
Minors Control Account.  These funds 
are used by DHS to administer the 
provisions of the Synar Amendment.  

 
• Requires DHS to prepare an annual 

report regarding enforcement activities 
and their effectiveness.  

 
• Authorizes DHS to conduct on-site sting 

inspections in response to public 
complaints, or at sites with previous 
violations (rather than choosing 
locations solely on a random basis), and 
to investigate illegal sales of tobacco 
products to minors by phone, mail or 
internet.  

 
For additional information, contact the 
Program Services Division, Prevention 
Services, at (916) 324-4398.  
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