
    
Program Services Division 
Treatment Services CA Dept. of Alcohol and Drug Programs Phone: (916) 322-6680 
Program Fiscal Policy Branch 1700 K Street, Sacramento, CA  95814 FAX: (916) 323-0633; TDD: (916) 445-1942 

    November 2004 

 
Fact Sheet:                

  

Drug Medi-Cal (DMC) 
Minor Consent Services 

 
 

What is Minor Consent? 
 
Minor Consent is a state-only program 
which excludes parental income and 
resources from consideration as a 
condition of Medi-Cal eligibility for 
certain, limited services to youth under 
the age of 21 who is living with his/her 
parent(s) or guardian(s).  State law and 
regulations do not allow contacting the 
parent(s)/guardians(s) of the youth who 
is applying for Minor Consent services. 
 
(Source: Title 22, California Code of 
Regulations (CCR), Sections 50147.1, 
50167(a)(6)(D)4., 50063.5, 50157(f)(3), 
50703(d); Family Code, Section 6929; 
Welfare and Institutions Code, 
Section 14010) 
 
Minor Consent Services Under DMC 
 
Title 22, CCR, Section 50063.5 defines 
Minor Consent services as “services 
related to: 
 
1. Sexual assault. 
2. Drug or alcohol abuse for children 12 

years of age or older. 
3. Pregnancy. 
4. Family planning. 
5. Venereal disease for children 12 

years or older. 
6. Sexually transmitted diseases 

designated by the Director of the 
California Department of Health 
Services for children 12 years of age 
or older. 

7. Mental health care for children 12 
years of age or older who are mature 
enough to participate intelligently 
and is needed to prevent the children 
from seriously harming themselves 
or others because the children are 
the alleged victims of incest or child 
abuse. 

 
The drug and alcohol abuse treatment 
services are primarily outpatient drug 
free counseling services.  Children 
receiving Minor Consent services are 
not eligible for Early and Periodic 
Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
supplemental services. 
 
(Source: Title 22, CCR, Sections 
50147.1, 50063.5, 50157(f)(3), 
50167(a)(6)(D), 50703(d)) 
 
Minor Consent Eligibility 
 
Minor Consent eligibility is for a period 
of one month.  The minor must return in 
person to the county welfare office to 
reapply for the subsequent month for 
which he/she may need a minor consent 
service. 
 
How are Minor Consent Services 
Paid? 
 
Minor Consent services for persons who 
are not Medi-Cal beneficiaries are 
support only with State General Funds 
(SGF) unless the minor is pregnant or 
postpartum.  Except for services 
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provided to pregnant and postpartum 
women, no federal funds are claimed 
since the income and resources of the 
minor’s parent(s) or guardian(s) are not 
considered in establishing the child’s 
eligibility for these limited Medi-Cal 
services.  Thus, counties expend 100 
percent of the cost for Minor Consent 
alcohol and other drug (AOD) services 
from their regular DMC SGF allocations. 
 
Minor Consent Services 
 
Once the minor qualifies for limited 
confidential Minor Consent services, the 
county welfare office can choose from a 
limited menu of services it can offer the 
child.  These services include: 
 
• If the minor is between 12 and 21 

years of age, he/she can receive 
substance abuse services that do 
not address his/her mental health 
issues, if any. 

 
• If the minor is under 12 years of age, 

he/she can receive substance abuse 
counseling related to his/her sexual 
assault and family planning but not 
mental health services. 

 
• If the minor is pregnant or 

postpartum, she can receive 
substance abuse services that are 
related to her health during 
pregnancy or postpartum period. 

 
Confidentiality 
 
Under Title 42, Code of Federal 
Regulations (CFR), Section 2.14, the 
AOD program and/or county cannot 
disclose that the minor is receiving 
Minor Consent services.  Title 42 CFR 
states, “If a minor patient acting alone 
has the legal capacity under applicable 

State law to apply for and obtain alcohol 
or drug abuse treatment, any written 
consent for disclosure authorized under 
subpart C of these regulations may be 
given only by the minor patient.” 
 
Minor Consent Services Billing 
 
The California Department of Health 
Services’ automated billing system will 
identify services eligible for Federal 
Financial Participation (FFP) and non-
FFP reimbursement.  Reimbursement 
will be made to counties/direct 
contractors following the same 
procedures for other DMC services. 
 


