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What is Minor Consent?

Minor Consent is a State-only program
which excludes parental income and
resources from consideration as a
condition of Medi-Cal eligibility for
certain, limited services to youth under
the age of 21 who are living with their
parent(s) or guardian(s). State law and
regulations do not allow contacting the
parent(s)/guardians(s) of youth who are
applying for Minor Consent services.

(Source: Title 22, California Code of
Regulations (CCR), Sections 50147.1,
50167(a)(6)(D)4., 50063.5, 50157(f)(3),
50703(d); Family Code, Section 6929;
Welfare and Institutions Code,

Section 14010)

Minor Consent Services Under DMC

Title 22, CCR, Section 50063.5 defines
Minor Consent services as “services
related to:

1. Sexual assault.

2. Drug or alcohol abuse for children 12
years of age or older.

3. Pregnancy.

4. Family planning.

5. Venereal disease for children 12
years or older.

6. Sexually transmitted diseases
designated by the Director of the
California Department of Health
Services for children 12 years of age
or older.
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7. Mental health care for children 12
years of age or older who are mature
enough to participate intelligently
and is needed to prevent the children
from seriously harming themselves
or others because the children are
the alleged victims of incest or child
abuse.

The drug and alcohol abuse treatment
services are primarily outpatient drug-
free counseling services. Children
receiving Minor Consent services are
not eligible for Early and Periodic
Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment
supplemental services.

(Source: Title 22, CCR, Sections
50147.1, 50063.5, 50157(f)(3),
50167(a)(6)(D), 50703(d))

Minor Consent Eligibility

Minor Consent eligibility is for a period
of one month. The minor must return in
person to the county welfare office to re-
apply for the subsequent month for
which they may need a minor consent
service.

How are Minor Consent Services
Paid?

Minor Consent services are supported
only with State General Funds (SGF).
However, limited Medi-Cal services that
receive federal funding may be available
for a minor during pregnancy or
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postpartum. Except for services
provided to pregnant and postpartum
women, no federal funds are claimed
since the income and resources of the
minor’s parent(s) or guardian(s) are not
considered in establishing the child’s
eligibility for these limited Medi-Cal
services. Thus, counties expend

100 percent of the cost for Minor
Consent alcohol and other drug (AOD)
services from their regular DMC SGF
allocations.

Minor Consent Services

Once the minor qualifies for limited
confidential Minor Consent services, the
county welfare office can choose from a
limited menu of services it can offer the
child. These services include:

e |f the minor is between 12 and 21
years of age, they can receive
substance abuse services that do
not address their mental health
issues, if any.

e |f the minor is under 12 years of age,
he/she can receive substance abuse
counseling related to their sexual
assault and family planning, but not
mental health services.

e |f the minor is pregnant or
postpartum, she can receive
substance abuse services that are
related to her health during
pregnancy or postpartum period.

Confidentiality

Under Title 42, Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR), Section 2.14, the
AOD program and/or county cannot
disclose that the minor is receiving
Minor Consent services. Title 42 CFR
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states, “If a minor patient acting alone
has the legal capacity under applicable
State law to apply for, and obtain,
alcohol or drug abuse treatment, any
written consent for disclosure authorized
under subpart C of these regulations
may be given only by the minor patient.”

Minor Consent Services Billing

The California Department of Health
Care Services’ automated billing system
will identify services eligible for Federal
Financial Participation (FFP) and non-
FFP reimbursement. Reimbursement
will be made to counties/direct
contractors following the same
procedures for other DMC services.
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