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PURPOSE   
 
This bulletin responds to a question posed to the Department of Alcohol and Drug 
Programs (ADP) from the field regarding the use of AEDs in a residential alcoholism or 
drug abuse recovery or treatment facility.  The question was:  can residential facilities 
purchase and use AEDs without violating the meaning of “nonmedical” in Health and 
Safety Code (HSC) Section 11834.02? 
 
DISCUSSION   
 
ADP has determined that residential facilities may lawfully purchase and use AEDs. 
 
Use of an AED is governed by HSC Section 1797.196, which allows any person to 
acquire a defibrillator upon certain conditions.  Neither the statute nor the implementing 
regulations (Title 22, California Code of Regulations [CCR], Division 9, Chapter 1.8) limit 
the ownership or use of an AED to medical professionals or require medical training to 
use an AED.  In fact, Section 100042(a)(7), Title 22, CCR, discusses use of an AED by a 
trained person or a “member of the general public.”  
 
Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) is used to provide emergency first aid when a 
person stops breathing.  Use of an AED serves a very similar purpose, which is to 
restore a heart beat in a person in cardiac arrest.  While American Red Cross-approved 
training is required to be authorized to use an AED, no medical license or emergency 
medical treatment certification is needed.  Therefore, the use of an AED is emergency 
care only and not considered medical treatment within the meaning of HSC  
Section 11834.02.   
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Furthermore, all owners of AEDs must comply with the regulations set forth in 
Sections 100031-100043, Title 22, CCR, regarding the ownership and operation of 
AEDs, which include but are not limited to: 
 

• Maintaining and regularly testing the AED; 
• Checking the AED for readiness after each use and at least once every 

30 days if the AED has not been used in the preceding 30 days; 
• Requiring specified persons to complete a training course in using an 

AED; and,  
• Ensuring that there is a written plan describing procedures to be followed 

in the event that use of an AED is necessary. 
 
REFERENCES   
 

• HSC Sections 1797.196 and 11834.02 
• Title 9, CCR, Section 10572(b) 
• Title 22, CCR, Division 9, Chapter 1.8, Sections 100031-100043 

 
BACKGROUND   
 
ADP has sole authority in California to license and certify alcoholism or drug abuse 
recovery or treatment facilities that provide “24-hour residential, nonmedical services to 
adults who are recovering from problems related to alcohol, drug, or alcohol and drug 
misuse or abuse, and who need alcohol, drug, or alcohol and drug recovery treatment 
or detoxification services” (HSC §11834.02, emphasis added). 
 
ADP’s regulations for residential alcoholism or drug abuse recovery or treatment 
facilities require that a residential facility have at least one person that is certified by the 
American Red Cross to provide CPR and first aid (§10572[b], Title 9, CCR).   
 
QUESTIONS/MAINTENANCE   
 
If you have any questions about the clarification of ADP policy regarding the ownership 
and use of AEDs in residential alcoholism or drug abuse recovery or treatment facilities, 
please contact Cathy Sorenson, Supervisor, Policy and Planning Unit, Licensing and 
Certification Division, at (916) 322-4251 or csorenson@adp.ca.gov.  An additional copy 
of this document may be requested through ADP’s Resource Center at (800) 879-2772.  
This bulletin is also available on ADP’s Web site at www.adp.ca.gov.   
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